top of page

Delicious Chicken Cubes with Peaches and Brandy


The other day, while reading an Italian magazine, I came across a chicken recipe and first thing that captured my attention were peaches. It's Summer and peaches are in Season and I like peaches because they are sweet, delicious and very versatile; You can peel them and eat them as is or even grill them and serve them with vanilla ice cream (my favorite Summer dessert), you can slice and dice them and incorporate them into a refreshing fruit salad, and they even make a delicious topping to pancakes, french toast and waffles.

Peaches with chicken well, I've never had the opportunity to try this dish or any other dish similar to. I looked into the ingredients: peaches, brandy, orange and basil and I said to myself: " I must try this" and I did. And the result was absolutely delicous because the combination of the sweet peaches along with the brandy and the zing of the orange just brings this dish all together into what Italians would call: "piatto agro -dolce" meaning sweet and sour dish. And that is exactly what this dish represents.

Agro- dolce dishes are very popular in Italy and one very popular side dish is the "Giardiniera" or better the " Garderner" which is non other than a raw vegetable salad preserved in water, vinager and sugar which is sealed in a jar. The main vegetables used for the Giardiniera are cauliflower, carrots, celery, red peppers and pearl onions. Just so delcious and it is often used in rice salads or as a simple side dish to meats and poultry dishes.

I researched to find out the origin of this recipe but I haven't found any information leading to a town nor a city in Italy, but one thing I did find out that the recipe was created by an Italian chef and I am not sure if I can state his name or not; therfore I'll just leave the credit to this Italian chef which I can say is a culinary genius. And I've also learned this particular dish is becoming very popular and a favorite among Italians.

It is very easy to prepare though it is very important that one does follow each individual step to

create this dish of susnhine. The original recipe calls for Calvados which is non other than a French cider brandy. When I prepared this dish I used a simple bottle of brandy and by all means if you prefer use Calvados. The Calvados obviuosly does add a more intense apple flavor while brand alone less but to compensate it all the freshly squezzed orange juice along with the basil does bring out a certain flavor to a well balanced peach chicken combination.

Preperation: 15 minutes

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts (thick) or 8 chicken strips

flour ( as needed)

3 peaches

3 oranges

1/2 cup of brandy or Calvados)

salt

Extra virgin olive oil ( as needed)

basil (Julienne sliced)

Preparation:

Slice the peaches into wedges and set aside. Squeeze three oranges and set aside the juice.Cut the chicken breast into cubes and season with salt. Afterwards brown the chicken cubes n a pan with a bit of oil. Add some flour, enough to obtain a creamy sauce, lower the heat to medium and then place the peaches in the pan and stir. Remove the pan from the heat (for a few seconds) to pour in the brandy or Calvados and return the pan onto the heat and stir. Finally add the juice of 3 oranges , stir and add a few basil leaves and stir. Once chicken is fully cooked and you've abotained a creamy sauce remove from stove and place the chicken with peaches on a serving dish and top wich some basi and serve.

Buon Appetito!


RECENT POSTS: 

bottom of page